Getting the 09+ Stock sub to work with an aftermarket Head unit

Discussion in 'Speakers / Subwoofers / Enclosures' started by spithead051, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. xrgilly

    xrgilly Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    2
    What was the issue?
     
  2. hrspwr236

    hrspwr236 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    3
    Please indulge a little, will be doing the same thing in the near future!
     
  3. Doublld

    Doublld Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    20
    Um don't mix up the wires lol. Crap happens
     
  4. xrgilly

    xrgilly Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    2
    Haha happens to the best of us
     
  5. justin13703

    justin13703 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    9
    Lol I figured it was a wiring issue. Probably with those blue wires I brought up.
     
  6. Doublld

    Doublld Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    20
    Actually no. It was the rear speaker wires were switched. The purple with black strip and the purple they were crossed
     
  7. spithead051

    spithead051 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    So this ended up being embarrassing. Turns out it was caused by the wires for one of the rear speakers being backwards. The speaker worked but the signal was not being received properly by the sub.

    Now to figure out why my instrument cluster backlight stopped working....
     
  8. xrgilly

    xrgilly Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    2
    U might have popped your dimmer switch I did that when I was dicking around with my stereo ..u can pop the dimmer out disconnect it and bridge the connector prongs see if they work
     
    #28 xrgilly, May 2, 2014
    Last edited: May 2, 2014
  9. spithead051

    spithead051 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you pop the dimmer out without removing the whole dash?
     
  10. xrgilly

    xrgilly Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    2
    i was dumb and used a flat head screwdriver to pop it out left some marks on the dash so i wouldn't recommend doing it that way I'm trying to remember what area of the dash the dimmer is located

    u can remove that section that covers the clusters and u might ve able to reach in and pop the switch out.. there might be a write up on how to remove that section in the how to change the l.e.d colour how to

    i know there is 2 plastic phillips screws in the top of it if u remove them it should pop out

    check your fuses first of course
     
    #30 xrgilly, May 2, 2014
    Last edited: May 2, 2014
  11. spithead051

    spithead051 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked every fuse in the truck. Although when I pulled IGN 2 out under the dash, the cluster lit up when the parking/headlights were set to off.

    I'll pop the dimmer in the morning and take a look at it.
     
    #31 spithead051, May 2, 2014
    Last edited: May 2, 2014
  12. justin13703

    justin13703 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    9
    What do you have the orange wire coming out of the radio connected to? If it is connected to the actual "dimmer" wire in the harness that usually pops your dimmer circuit fuse or fries the dimmer switch itself. There should be a wire labeled "illumination" this is the wire you can connect the orange wire from the radio to. Or just leave it disconnected. Only downside is your radio won't dim itself at night.
     
  13. spithead051

    spithead051 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the Kenwood instructions it is called the "Dimmer control wire" and on the metra harness it is called the illumination wire. I guess when I was testing the radio earlier I didn't have the truck "On", just at "ACC" to test the radio and when I actually turned the truck on it must have fried the dimmer switch.
     
  14. Blue10XR

    Blue10XR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    3
    I connected a Sony xav 701HD today and have not sub power or audio out of the rears.
    I dont even see any rear speakers in the xr at all. Is there something I am missing on how to make the sub power up using the toyota harness?
     
  15. justin13703

    justin13703 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    9
    What is the blue/white wire coming out of your radio connected to

    And the rear speakers on 09 and up are in the headliner
     
  16. Blue10XR

    Blue10XR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    3
    Justin,
    Blue/white from HU to blue of harness. If they are in the headliner they are really hidden well...
     
  17. hrspwr236

    hrspwr236 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    3
    And very tiny and practically worthless :frown: you have to remove the headliner to get at them, just forget they are even there :top:
     
  18. justin13703

    justin13703 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    9
    Make sure that all the blue and blue/white wires on the harness are connected to the blue/white on the radio. I can't remember off the top of my head how many there are. But other than that it should be working. It might just be very quiet. Most people say they're pretty much useless anyway along with the headliner speakers lol
     
  19. Blue10XR

    Blue10XR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, I get the feeling they are worthless as well but I was just trying to get them to turn on.
    It looks like the internal amp which powers the rear are not getting power or something of that nature.
    If no one here has done this I suppose I'll get the multimeter out and start ringing writes out to see what is happening.
    Thanks for all the help so far!
     
  20. 20blackX12

    20blackX12 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...........
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    XR-Underground is a dedicated community of Toyota X-Runner enthusiasts that was launched in January 2007. X-Runner Underground.com, referred to as XRU by our regular members, offers an active discussion forum, group events, specialty merchandise, a welcoming community of owners and the most information you can find about the Toyota X-Runner on the internet!
  • Quick Navigation

    Open the Quick Navigation

  • Like us on Facebook

  • Your donations keep XRU going

    XRU is a forum for the users, by the users. We receive very limited funding from vendors so we really rely on donations to cover our operating costs and to provide products and giveaways at events. Every dollar helps!

    If you are able to donate, we'd really appreciate your help.